Division of Alexander’s Empire, 303 B.C.
Following the death of Alexander the Great in 323 B.C., his successors competed for his throne. After numerous battles and shifts of allegiance, the empire was divided up among five of Alexander’s generals, as shown in this map. The rivalry for power continued, however, and after the defeat of Antigonus at the Battle of Ipsus in 301 B.C., there were four kingdoms. The wars lasted until 281 B.C.. and resulted in the establishment of three main kingdoms: Egypt, Asia Minor, and Macedonia. Although the unity of the empire was gone, Greek civilization continued to spread throughout this region.
  Return to Top | ST9 ALEXANDER

   Copyright © by Holt, Rinehart and Winston. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use